Province of Freedom

“Province of Freedom” is the name of the agricultural and mercantile colony that was established in 1787 by a British charitable organization. It was to be settled by those known as the “Black Poor”: former slaves who were living in extreme poverty in London. Direct democracy and self-management were given a large role in the rules and regulations of the province, which was to have a black leader. However, as a result of poor planning, it faced material difficulties and was undermined by mismanagement. The experiment would be short-lived.
The Province of Freedom was recapitalized and, in 1791, became the Sierra Leone Company. This time, there would be no self-management; instead, the Company was run with an authoritarian approach over seen by whites. It took in slaves from America, who, at the beginning of the War of Independence, had been promised emancipation if they fought with British loyalist troops against the revolutionaries. With the British defeat, they were evacuated to Nova Scotia, where they lived in desperate conditions. Among the first pioneers to settle in what was called “Free Town” — a name that would later come to be written as a single word — was Harry Washington, a fugitive slave from the plantation owned by none other than George Washington, a founding father of the United States.
The Sierra Leone Company achieved neither political and social stability — for the colonists resented the unfulfilled promises that had been made to them — nor financial viability. Eventually, in 1808, it was taken over by the British Crown and became acolony in the modern sense of the word.
This book describes these events in terms of two acts: the Province of Freedom as act one and the Sierra Leone Company as act two. It sets their story within the historical context of the eighteenth-century debates on abolitionism and colonization.
It concludes with the thesis to which the entire book has led: the Crown’s seizure of the Sierra Leone colony provoked the general movement towards hinterland takeover and settlement. Through the latter, the “three Cs” policy (Christianity, commerce, and civilization) won out over the positions of certain Enlightenment authors who were opposed to colonization. This movement culminated in the 1884 partitioning of Africa at the conference of Berlin.
The book pays tribute to the heroes of the Province of Freedom and the Sierra Leone Company, many of whom remain anonymous: men and women who had been enslaved, who managed to escape, and who embarked on the extraordinary adventure of this perilous utopia. Harry Washington and some of his companions had fought to return to Africa, only to have to struggle for freedom once again; this book seeks to treat them with the dignity that is their due.

Province of Freedom.

Thierry Paulais

Nouveau monde,  publisher in Paris

224 pages

2021

Nautical chart of the Sierra Leone estuary, 1758
View of Fort Bunce, one of the black trafficking establishments in Sierra Leone
Stamp with the effigy of Granville Sharp, the English abolitionist

Province of Freedom

Province of Freedom. C’est le nom de la colonie à vocation agricole et marchande fondée en Afrique de l’Ouest par une association caritative anglaise en 1787. La Province Liberté visait à accueillir les Black Poor, anciens esclaves vivants dans la grande pauvreté à Londres. Le règlement de la colonie accordait une large place à la démocratie directe et l’autogestion, sa direction devait être assurée par un noir. Mais, mal préparée,confrontée à des difficultés matérielles et minée par des dysfonctionnements de gestion,l’expérience aura une existence éphémère.

La Province Liberté sera recapitalisée et transformée en 1791 sous le nom de Sierra Leone Compagny. Cette fois il n’est plus question d’autogestion, mais d’une direction autoritaire, assurée par un encadrement blanc.Cette seconde compagnie accueillit des esclaves d’Amérique à qui la liberté avait été promise par les Anglais au début de la guerre d’indépendance américaine s’ils rejoignaient les troupes loyalistes contre les insurgés. Après la défaite anglaise, ils avaient été évacués en Nouvelle-Écosse où ils vivaient dans des conditions difficiles. Parmi les pionniers à s’installer dans la «Ville libre» (Free Town, qui deviendra Freetown), se trouvait notamment Harry Washington,esclave fugitif de la propriété de George Washington, le père fondateur des États-Unis…

La Compagnie de la Sierra Leone ne parvint jamais à la stabilité sociale et politique en raison du ressentiment des colons face à des promesses non tenues ni à l’équilibre financier. Elle fut finalement reprise par la Couronne britannique en 1808, devenant une colonie au sens moderne du terme.

L’ouvrage propose une description de ces évènements en deux actes: acte un, la Province Liberté; acte deux, la Compagnie de la Sierra Leone. Il replace cette histoire dans le contexte des débats du XVIIIe siècle sur l’abolitionnisme et la colonisation.

La thèse que défend le livre – et sur laquelle il conclut – c’est que la reprise de la Colonie de la Sierra Leone par la Couronne britannique a provoqué le mouvement général de prise de possession des hinterlands et de création de colonies. Ce mouvement verra la politique dite des 3 C (Christianity, Commerce, Civilization) prendre le pas sur les positions de certains auteurs des Lumières opposés à la colonisation.Il débouchera en1884 sur la partition de l’Afrique lors de la conférence de Berlin.

Ce livre enfin ambitionne de rendre hommage aux héros souvent anonymes de la Province of Freedom et de la Sierra Leone Compagny, ces femmes et ses hommes qui avaient été mis en esclavage, qui parvinrent à s’enfuir et s’engagèrent dans cette utopie périlleuse. Il s’agit de restituer son humanité à la figure de l’esclave qui a tenté le retour en Afrique dans cette aventure extraordinaire et devait encore y défendre sa liberté,comme Harry Washington, le fugitif du domaine de Georges Washington et quelques-uns de ses compagnons.

Province of Freedom.

Thierry Paulais

Nouveau monde,  éditeur à Paris

224 pages

2021

Vue du fort de Bunce, un des établissements de traite des Noirs en Sierra Leone
Timbre à l’effigie de Granville Sharp, l’abolitionniste anglais